JAMES CRUISE Ministries Blog

God chooses what we go through. We choose how we go through it.

Grandparents Raising Their Grandchildren

Vickie is a grandmother raising her heroin-addicted daughter’s two toddlers. I asked her what the two or three biggest concerns in her life are, now that she’s a parent again.

“Money comes first,” she said. “Children are expensive. Next I suppose is my legal relationship to the kids. I’m always scared my daughter will show up out of the blue and try to get them back. If I adopt them, she can’t ever get them back, but my “kin-care” money from the state will stop. And I need the money.”

Vickie paused and looked at me. Her eyes were sad and tired. “You know what’s really at the top? I feel alone. Nobody cares about me and these precious babies, What on earth would happen to them if I died? I’m sixty-two years old. I try not to think about it.”

From “Raising Your Children’s Children” by Martha Evans Sparks

Grandparents as Parents

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

